Audrey Ashira

my hush

In old poetry, poetry on August 3, 2010 at 11:46 pm

you are my reprieve from the world
you are my quiet
my hush
the soft whisper of
‘i love you’
in the spiteful rush

your breath
is the air I crave
your hearbeat –
the soft rhythm
like the pounding waves
that rocks me to sleep

you are my silence,
my sweet.

you are the arms that hold me
and I
melt into your touch
like a soft sigh
oh
your voice is a lullaby
in this thunderstorm

you are my coming-home
your eyes
are the place
i get found in
the place i belong

you are my river,
my song.

you are my reprieve from the world
you are my friend,
my love.
and i find you in my thoughts,
my dreams,
and the wild grey doves

and you are the stillness
in the rush

and in the whirl of destiny
and the harsh cacophony
of what
must come about
and be

you’re my forever,
my hush

Leave a Reply

