Audrey Ashira

on the flipside of a 45

In freewrite, poetry on June 11, 2011 at 2:01 pm

Yesterday’s love
I remember yesterday’s love:
Like a caressingly warm summer breeze
Yesterday’s dreams come back to me.

No quarrels, no fights,
Just the tender touch
The haunted me at night;
Just the softest songs that crowded up my dreams
Yesterday’s love – the sweetest thing.

All the hurtful days
Melt and slip away into a blurry haze.
Overshadowed by the laughter and smiles
Dancing barefoot on the cool, white kitchen tiles.

Arms around me tight
Ne’re a harsh word
Ne’re a doubt that crossed my mind
Alright, perhaps it wasn’t so fine before…
But golden yesterday, were you not that and more?

Leave a Reply

